HomeProfessional LearningCurriculumAustralian Curriculum General Capabilities

Australian Curriculum General Capabilities

  • Print

Online consultation opportunity General Capabilities
The Australian Curriculum has identified a set of knowledge, skills and dispositions or general capabilities that will assist students to live and work successfully in the twenty-first century.
The Shape of the Australian Curriculum v2.0. identifies seven general capabilities to be addressed in the Australian curriculum. These are:

    • Literacy
    • Numeracy
    • Information and communication technology competence
    • Critical and creative thinking
    • Personal and social competence
    • Ethical behaviour
    • Intercultural understanding.

ACARA is now conducting consultation on the full set of general capabilities materials.

Overviews that describe the nature, scope and significance of each general capability are on the general capabilities section of the Australian Curriculum website at: http://www.australiancurriculum.edu.au/GeneralCapabilities.

You are able to provide feedback on these materials by registering on the ACARA site. Respondents may give feedback in two ways: 1) by completing the online survey or 2) by using the feedback button for each section of the general capabilities materials.

The consultation period will close on Sunday 7 August 2011.

Following consultation, feedback will be analysed and general capabilities materials revised prior to publication on the Australian Curriculum site in November 2011.

To view the general capabilities materials and to register for the General capabilities consultation, go to: http://www.australiancurriculum.edu.au/Consultation.

For further information, visit http://www.acara.edu.au/.